Oruro Department trip planner

Create a fully customized
day-by-day itinerary for free

Itinerary Planner
+ Add destination
2 adults
- +
- +
- +

Oruro Department

Oruro is a department in Bolivia, with an area of. Its capital is the city of Oruro. According to the 2012 census, the Oruro department had a population of 494,178.Provinces of OruroThe department is divided into 16 provinces which are further subdivided into municipalities and cantons.Note: Eduardo Abaroa Province (#5) is both north of and south of Sebastián Pagador Province (#6).GovernmentThe chief executive office of Bolivia departments (since May 2010) is the governor; until then, the office was called the prefect, and until 2006 the prefect was appointed by the President of Bolivia. The current governor, Santos Tito of the Movement for Socialism – Political Instrument for the Sovereignty of the Peoples, was elected on 4 April 2010.The chief legislative body of the department is the Departmental Legislative Assembly, a body also first elected on 4 April 2010. It consists of 33 members: 16 elected by each of the department's provinces; 16 elected based on proportional representation; and minority indigenous representative selected by the Uru-Chipaya people.LanguagesThe languages spoken in the department are mainly Spanish, Quechua and Aymara. The following table shows the number of those belonging to the recognized group of speakers.
With the Inspirock international travel planner, Oruro Department and other destinations across the globe can be made central to your personalized travel plans.
Create a full itinerary — for free!

Plan your trip to Oruro Department

  • Get a personalized plan

    A complete day-by-day itinerary
    based on your preferences
  • Customize it

    Refine your plan. We'll find the
    best routes and schedules
  • Book it

    Choose from the best hotels
    and activities. Up to 50% off
  • Manage it

    Everything in one place.
    Everyone on the same page.

Places to visit in Oruro Department

Popular things to do in Oruro Department

See all ›
Duration: 8 hours
Duration: 2h 30 min
Duration: 4 hours
Duration: 2h 30 min